Ebonyi Governor Swears In New Permanent Secretaries

Polycarp Sola-Abakaliki

Governor David Nweze Umahi has sworn in the Chairman, Secretary and members of the Ebonyi State Anti-Corruption and Public Complaints Commission.

Governor Umahi performed the swearing in during a State Executive Council meeting at the Executive Council Chambers, Ochudo Centenary City Tuesday.

The Commission is Chaired by Rt. Hon. Sabinus Nwankwegu with Barr. Mayor Ogbonna Ernest serving as Secretary.

Members of the Commission include: Barr. Chukwuorji Igodo, Barr. Emmanuel Ogbonnia Egwu, Prince Chinedu Aloke, Dr. Jeremiah Nwankwegu, Barr. Sylvester Odo and Mrs. Ogwudu Cathrine Ogechi.

Also sworn in were six Career Civil Servants who were elevated to the position of Permanent Secretaries

Addressing the appointees, Governor David Nweze Umahi enjoined them to be upright in the discharge of their responsibilities.

“Let me congratulate members of the anti corruption commission, let me hope that they understand what they have signed for, to be impeccable, to be upright. So, first, they have to declare their assets, they are going to be of great help to the next administration.

“To the Permanent Secretaries congratulations. Go back to your respective places of work, your tenure is not ending with me but the only person that I am posting now is the Permanent Secretary, Lagos Liaison. The rest will be done after I have consulted the Governor-elect.

“Character is very important, every time I have issues with Government Officials, I would ask the person, if it were your own, would you do it that way?

“When you are principled, when you are forthright, people will still come and say thank you to you.

“I want to congratulate you and ask you to go back to your studies, we have raised the standard for Ebonyi. For you to compete favourably with anyone anywhere in the Country, I charge you, be upright, do the job and every other thing would be added unto you.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *